Thai Coconut Curry with Brussels Sprouts and Tofu

Thai food is one of my favorites. I love peanuts, coconut, ginger, chili, lemongrass, and any combination of those flavors.

I’ve been trying to stray away from my go-to Brussels sprouts recipes (i.e. roasting them and slightly tweaking the spices I dump on top.) so last week I experimented with a Thai Coconut Curry with Brussels Sprouts and Tofu from Deb’s Pots.

The recipe uses sweet potatoes and Brussels sprouts as the main vegetable base and has some tofu for bulk and protein. I omitted the snap peas because I didn’t have any on hand, but I be they’d be great. I think many other fresh vegetables you have on hand could work instead of the snap peas. I photographed most of the ingredients I used, but I forgot a few until later.

The sauce is a  delicious coconut milk reduction with a handful of spices. I liked the sprouts in the green curry, but I think next time I’d make a few tweaks.

When sauteing the onion, I threw in some garlic as well. The turmeric was definitely enough (maybe could have been a teensy bit less) but I could have used more spice in here.

The cook time for the sweet potato also seems very short. I added a bit more time, and it was still a little tougher than I’d like. I could also have a faulty microwave, so just be cautious so you’re not eating a raw potato.

Next time I’d add a little more cumin that suggested and more chili. The recipe recommends cayenne to taste, but I think many chilies would pair well.

I didn’t have any leftover cilantro to garnish, and my bottle of sriracha was on its last legs, so no fancy designs. Regardless, this was good, and I still have some in my freezer because it makes a big batch. I hope it thaws well!

If you have suggestions or recommendations or would like to write a guest post on your own creations/adventures, let me know and we can add you to the queue.

One Comment Add yours

  1. debspots says:

    💚💚💚💚💚

    Like

Leave a Reply

