Warm Quinoa Brussels Sprouts Salad

This week’s recipe comes from Sweet & Savory by Shinee. I’ve been on a salad kick of late. I think they make great lunches, so you don’t feel overly full and sleepy at work. (I’m looking at you, burritos!)

As per usual, the original recipe has much better photos than I will ever take, so click the link above and check it out.

This salad is made to be served warm, but I think it keeps well in the fridge if your let the dressing soak in. This is a must for salads for me, as I like making a batch on a Sunday evening and having something to eat for a few days. It’s really nice to be able to focus of making a couple of dishes one night and relaxing for the next week without worrying about making anything fancy after a long day.

So, let’s talk about this salad. I enjoy that it’s simple to do, but I will note you need to have some time on your hands. The squash needs cutting and roasting. The quinoa needs cooking. The Brussels sprouts need shredding. And of course, you need to assemble the vinegrette. I’ll show you the shortcuts I used, in case they help.

IMG_3082

For starters, I often buy precubed butternut squash. A whole squash, if you have the time and arm strength, is the better bet. The precut squash will spoil and get mushy and moldy fairly quickly, so buy it right before you need it. It’ll keep in the fridge unopened for a week tops. I bought mine the day before.

Precut squash also comes in larger cubes than I usually want. I roughly chop the squash for whatever recipe I’m using, but buying it this was does save time. By chopping it even a little, you save time in the oven.

You only need one cup for this recipe, but I baked the whole batch to use later, or frankly, to snack on while make the rest of the salad.

While the squash is roasting, you can assemble the rest of the salad. The water ratio for the quinoa seemed low (and it was for the brand I purchased) so fiddle with it so your quinoa isn’t crunchy and doesn’t burn.

IMG_3083This time I decided to test preshredded sprouts. I know, I know. This seems like cheating, but I wanted to see if it made a difference. It’s going to be fresher if you cut them yourselves, but the preshredded sprouts are cut finer than when I do them by hand. It all depends on how great your knife skills are and if you want to save time.

After the quinoa is cooked, add the Brussels sprouts just to let them soften a little bit. Mine wilted a little more than I’d like, so if you want more of a crunch, skip this step.

Combine the sprouts and quinoa with the other ingredients (cranberries, nuts, chickpeas) in a large bowl. I subbed pecans for walnuts.

IMG_3095

On to the dressing. You can definitely work on this while the quinoa and squash are cooking. Your favorite dressing would work fine, but I decided to try the honey dijon dressing, or at least my take on it.

I used honey, rice wine vinegar, lemon juice, oil, and mustard. Add salt and pepper to taste. Shake it up in a mason jar and drizzle on top of your salad.

 

Send me information about your own creations/adventures! I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

