Shredded Kale, Pear (Noodle), and Brussels Sprouts Salad

60835EDD-0B0D-4C7E-BAE7-FB7D27DF398C

Let’s talk about spiralizers. I saw this recipes and was excited because I’ve only used my spiralizer successfully on zucchini, summer squash, and carrots so far. Even then, it can be tricky if you don’t select exactly the right sized vegetables. Tip: Cutting a vegetable to fit doesn’t give you the best results.

I was skeptical about a pear noodle, not because of the flavor but the shape of pears. I have a very low-end spiralizer (aka I spent $8 on one on Amazon), which is why I have trouble with some vegetables that are different shapes and sizes.

AA8E6211-C577-4D63-8384-3E6D60E1EF40

I was right to be skeptical.

I was able to make a few fruit noodles before giving up, but thankfully this salad works well with chopped pear, as well.

There’s a pattern with these recipes that kale and Brussels sprouts go well together in many dishes, especially salads. Brussels sprouts have really grown on me raw, and I think you’ll like them too if you balance them out with other vegetables and let them sit in dressing to really soak in that flavor for a bit or even overnight. Both vegetables stay crisp unlike say lettuce-based salads.

So let’s talk about this salad. It’s fairly simple, and will keep for several days in the fridge. Just keep an eye on the pear pieces, which may start turning brown if you leave it in your week for over a week. But, honestly, why would you do that?

IMG_3157

Start by toasting some almonds. I bought mine preslivered to save time. Just pop them into a pan over low heat for a few minutes until they’re slightly brown. Then, set them aside.

BCA6716C-FB61-471A-B8BE-25D3E10DB2B2

The salad base is finely shredded kale. If you buy your kale already in bite sized chunks, it definitely doesn’t hurt, for this recipe, to run your knife over the bunch and just roughly chop it. Take your Brussels sprouts and chop off the bottoms and shred them. Mix your greens together.

If you’re making the fruit noodles, do that and add them into the mix as well as the toasted almonds. If you, like me, just want to chop up your pears, do that. For reference I used Anjou pears.

Since this is a salad, the ingredients don’t need to be as precise. I used the whole bag of Brussels sprouts than Inspiralized, and two pears, but kept the amount of kale the same as the recipe intended.

On to the vinaigrette. Mix together olive oil. shallot, honey, apple cider vinegar, and mustard. Add salt and pepper to taste. Making the dressing does not photograph well, but it’s a good blend, I promise.

Remember to send me more recipes and suggestions.

Leave a Reply

