Kung Pao Brussels Sprouts

zoomed in finished

While I’m still sorting through old photos (and getting new submissions of people eating their own sprouts), I managed to cook up a new recipe this weekend. Why did this recipe take precedence over the stack of recipes I’ve made or sample in the past few weeks? Well, it was really, really good.

This recipe requires buying a few ingredients you (or at least I) don’t have on hand, but it’s versatile enough that you could even make it with another vegetable. I won’t hold it against you if you do. (Yes, I will.)

So let’s make some Kung Pao sprouts. I adapted a recipe that in itself is adapted from Top Chef’s Kevin Gillespie’s recipe. Let’s do this!

ingreds. 2

First, assemble the ingredients. As per usual, I forgot to set all of them out before taking a picture, but you get the idea. The only thing you need at the beginning are the sprouts. The recipe calls for a whopping 2 lb. but I only used 1.5 lb. since I’d used the rest in another recipe. (Spoiler: Brussels sprouts grilled cheese write-up coming soon.)

Remove the bottoms of the sprouts and cut them in half. If it’s a particularly big sprout, you can quarter it. Put the sprouts in a big bowl and coat them with 3 Tbs. of oil and some ground pepper. Your choice, but I used canola. I think peanut or sesame could be good, but I didn’t have any on hand.

sprouts on sheet

Spread the sprouts in a single layer on a baking sheet. The recipe says 425, which I followed though I’m usually a 450 person. You can experiment with what best works for your oven. You want them to be nice and roasted, so keep them in there for 20-25 minutes and mix them around about halfway through the time so nothing burns. You want some crispy leaves not a burnt mess.

onions garlic ginger

While that’s roasting in the oven, go ahead and make the delicious sauce. Mix together green onions, ginger and garlic in a pan with a little oil and just cook for a minute or two. I used ginger paste instead of fresh ginger and many more green onions than suggested. Why? Well, I had too many green onions (I did not actually use all of them pictured, and I did not use the spring onions at all. Use as many as you’d like to taste.) and I like the ease of using ginger paste. Please ignore how dusty my stove top was that day.

cooking sauce

Add to the mix soy sauce, sugar, rice vinegar, water, red chili paste, and red chilies. I had some trouble finding whole red chilies at the grocery store, so I added in red chili flakes. I think the whole chilies are definitely more aesthetically pleasing, but the pepper flakes work in a pinch. Just be mindful that you’re probably not chomping down on multiple whole chilies, but you will be eating the flakes so experiment with how much you may need of that. The chili paste is also strong enough that you won’t need a ton anyway.

thickenedpaste

In a separate bowl, mix together some cornstarch and water into a paste. Flour will also suffice. You just need something to add back into the pan to thicken the sauce. Add the paste into the pan and mix together. Cook it until the sauce is thick enough for your liking. Then remove it from the stove before it burns, especially if your sprouts aren’t done yet.

When your sprouts are ready, plate them with some white rice and drizzle the sauce on top. Sprinkle some peanuts on top for an added crunch.

More recipes coming soon!

Leave a Reply

